Political Science Faculty

Active Faculty

tabitha benney

Tabitha Benney

International Relations
Assistant Professor


Email: tabitha.benney@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-7475
Office: OSH 327


Areas of Expertise:

  • International currency markets
  • Environmental policy, esp. environmental markets in emerging economies
  • Varieties of capitalism

matthew burbank

Matthew Burbank

American Politics
Associate Professor


Email: mburbank@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-6313
Office: OSH 156B


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Mega-events
  • Public opinion
  • Urban politics

mark button

Mark Button

Political Theory
Associate Professor
Department Chair


Email:  mark.button@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-7987
Office: OSH 154C


Areas of Expertise:

  • Deliberative democracy
  • Civic education
  • Political ethics
  • Suicide

Eun Bin Chung

International Relations
Political Psychology
Assistant Professor

Email: eunbinc@gmail.com
Phone: 801-585-7654
Office: OSH 326


Areas of Expertise:

  • International security
  • Conflict resolution
  • Political psychology
  • Survey and field experiments

jim curry

Jim Curry

American Politics
Assistant Professor



Email: james.curry@utah.edu
Phone: 301-325-4979
Office: OSH 323


Areas of Expertise:

  • Congress
  • Leadership
  • Political parties

edmund fong

Edmund Fong

American Politics
Ethnic Studies
Associate Professor

Email: edmund.fong@utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-7656
Office: OSH 319


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Race
  • Ethnicity
  • American politics

john francis

John Francis

Comparative Politics
Professor


Email: john.francis@utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-3460
Office: OSH 206C


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Public lands
  • Public health
  • Western Europe
  • North America

jim gosling

Jim Gosling

American Politics
Professor


Email: pjg@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-0447
Office: OSH 304 


Areas of Expertise:

  • Budgetary politics
  • Political economy
  • State and local politics

rick green

Rick Green

Public Administration
Professor


Email: rick.green@mpa.utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-6223 
Office: 206B


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Administrative practices
  • Public Service
  • Ethics

sam handlin

Sam Handlin

Comparative Politics
Assistant Professor



Email: samhandlin@gmail.com
Phone: 801-581-7031
Office: OSH 321


Areas of Expertise:

  • Politics of developing countries
  • Elections
  • Political economy of development

tobias hofmann

Tobias Hofmann

International Relations
Comparative Politics
Assistant Professor


Email: tobias.hofmann@utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-6371
Office: OSH 325


Areas of Expertise: 

  • International trade agreements
  • European integration

claudio holzner

Claudio Holzner

Comparative Politics
Associate Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Associate Director

Email: claudio.holzner@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-7988
Office: OSH 302


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Immigration
  • Political participation
  • Social movements

steven johnston

Steven Johnston

Political Theory
Professor
Maxwell Endowed Chair


Email: steven.johnston@utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-7031
Office: OSH 301


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Patriotism
  • Public space
  • Memorial practices

howard lehman

Howard Lehman

International Relations
Professor
IR Certificate Director


Email: lehman@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone 801-581-6246
Office: OSH 154B


Areas of Expertise:

  • Globalization
  • Foreign aid
  • African politics

dan levin

Daniel Levin

American Politics
Political Theory
Associate Professor

Email: daniel.levin@utah.edu
Phone: 801-587-9096
Office: OSH 210D


Areas of Expertise:

  • Civil rights and liberties
  • Administrative law

baodong liu

Baodong Liu

American Politics
Ethnic Studies
Professor
Department Associate Chair

Email: bblpo@yahoo.com
Phone: 801-581-6473
Office: OSH 317


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Urban and racial politics
  • Voting
  • Elections

steven lobell

Steven Lobell

International Relations
Professor



Email: steven.lobell@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-5259
Office: 210B


Areas of Expertise:

  • International security
  • Foreign policy
  • Political economy
  • Middle East

sharon mastracci

Sharon Mastracci

Public Administration
Associate Professor



Email: sharon.mastracci@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-7031
Office: OSH 328 


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Public management
  • Emotional labor
  • Workplace diversity
  • Public service

dan mccool

Dan McCool

American Politics
Professor


Email: dan.mccool@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-6455
Office: N/A


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Water policy
  • Public lands
  • Native American voting rights

ella myers

Ella Myers

Political Theory
Gender Studies

Associate Professor

Email: ella.myers@utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-5663
Office: OSH 310


Areas of Expertise:

  • Citizen participation
  • Economic inequality
  • Race
  • Gender and politics

steven ott

Steven Ott

Public Administration
Professor
International Affairs and Global Enterprise
Director

Email: jsott@cppa.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-7406
Office: OSH 300


Areas of Expertise:

  • Non-Profit sector
  • Public administration
  • Organizational theory and behavior

peri schwartz-shea

Peri Schwartz-Shea

American Politics
Public Administration

Professor

Email: psshea@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-6300
Office: OSH 256E


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Research methods
  • Institutional review boards

Chris Simon

Public Administration
American Politics

Professor

Email: simon@cppa.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-3544
Office: OSH 256E


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Alternative energy policy
  • Energy security
  • Education policy
  • Criminal justice

brent steele

Brent Steele

International Relations
Professor
Wormuth Presidential Chair and Director of Graduate Studies

Email: brent.steele@utah.edu
Phone: 801-587-7754
Office: OSH 250B


Areas of Expertise:

  • Security
  • International relations
  • Ethics
  • Just war

lina svedin

Lina Svedin

Public Administration
Associate Professor
(Masters) Public Policy, Public Administration Director

Email: lina.svedin@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-585 7984
Office: OSH 214


Areas of Expertise:

  • Governmental responses to crises
  • Risk management

Yanqi Tong

Comparative Politics
Professor


Email: y.tong@utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-3457
Office: OSH 332


Areas of Expertise:

  • Politics of China
  • Environmental politics in China
  • Political culture and governance

hakan yavuz

M. Hakan Yavuz

Comparative Politics
Professor


Email: hakan.yavuz@utah.edu
Phone: 801-585-7986
Office: OSH 256D


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Transnational Islamic Networks
  • Ethnic/Religious conflict
  • Turkey
  • Middle East

 

Career-Line Faculty

Marjorie Castle

International Relations
Comparative Politics
Associate Professor Lecturer



Email: marjorie.castle@utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-7031
Office: OSH 210C


Areas of Expertise:

  • Foreign policy
  • International security
  • Post-Soviet countries

tim chambless

Tim Chambless

American Politics
Associate Professor Lecturer




Email: tchambless@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801-581-4965
Office: OSH 308


Areas of Expertise: 

  • State and local politics
  • American Government

luke garrott

Luke Garrott

Political Theory
Associate Professor Lecturer

Email: luke.garrott@poli-sci.utah.edu
Phone: 801/585-3722
Office: OSH 304


Areas of Expertise: 

  • Urban politics
  • Neighborhood democracy

 

 

Visiting Faculty

Jeremy Bowling  Visiting Assistant Professor

Auxiliary Faculty

Abdul M. Baksh Adjunct Associate Professor
Larry L. Bench Adjunct Associate Professor
Troy Booher Adjunct Instructor
Jill Etterlein Carter Adjunct Assistant Professor
Marjorie Castle Associate Professor Lecturer
Tim Chambless Associate Professor Lecturer
Mike Christensen Adjunct Associate Professor
Leslie Francis Adjunct Professor
Luke Garrott Associate Professor Lecturer
Kenneth A. Hansen Adjunct Instructor
Mickey Ibarra Adjunct Associate Professor
Kirk Jowers Associate Professor Lecturer
Courtney McBeth Clinical Instructor
M. Scott Mietchen Adjunct Instructor
Paul T. Morris Assistant Professor (Lecturer)
Gary Nakao Adjunct Associate Professor
Steve Nelson Adjunct Associate Instructor
William David Patton Adjunct Professor
Sandra J Pershing Adjunct Associate Professor
Bryan K. Ritchie Adjunct Professor
Robert T. Rolfs Adjunct Professor
Steven Shaha Adjunct Professor
Robert Mower Spendlove Adjunct Instructor
Richard J Sperry MD Adjunct Professor
Kirk Torgensen Adjunct Assistant Professor
Constance B White Adjunct Assistant Professor
Michael Bernard Zuhl Adjunct Assistant Professor

Associate Instructors

Samantha Ball Associate Instructor
Doug Foxley Associate Instructor
Heidi Franco Associate Instructor
Tracy Graham Associate Instructor
Jerry Howe Adjunct Instructor
Frank Pignanelli Associate Instructor
Renee Tanner Graduate Instructor
Nora Wood Associate Instructor

Emeritus Faculty

Edward Epstein (deceased) Professor Emeritus
Lauren Holland Professor Emeritus
Ronald Hrebenar Professor Emeritus
Robert Huefner Professor Emeritus
Dan Jones Professor (Lecturer) Emeritus
James B. Mayfield Professor Emeritus
Susan Olson Professor Emeritus