Skip to content

Political Science Faculty & Staff

Staff Members

Corinne Foutz Administrative Manager; 801-587-9899
Maddy Elliott Administrative Assistant; 801-581-7031
Kari Porter Graduate Advisor; 801-581-8608

Emily Spacek

Undergraduate Advisor; 801-581-3241

 

Active Faculty

All faculty members are located in Carolyn and Kem Gardner Commons, Suite 3345 (unless otherwise noted).
Please contact faculty members via email.

Tabitha Benney

International Relationstabitha benney
Associate Professor

Email: tabitha.benney@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: International currency markets, environmental policy, esp. environmental markets in emerging economies, and varieties of capitalism

Matthew Burbank

American Politicsmatthew burbank
Professor

Email: mburbank@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Mega-events, public opinion, and urban politics

Juliet Carlisle

American Politics 
Professor & Department Chair

Email: juliet.carlisle@utah.edu 

Areas of Expertise: American Politics, energy and environmental politics, public opinion, and political socialization

David Carter

      Public Policy & Administration
      Associate Professor 

      Email:david.carter@mpa.utah.edu

       Areas of Expertise:  Regulatory program design and administration, special districts, collective action

                                      institutions, self-governance among climbers

Eunbin Chung

International Relations, Political Psychology
Assistant Professor

Email: eunbinc@gmail.com

Areas of Expertise: International security, conflict resolution, political psychology, and survey and field experiments

Christina Cottiero

Intercottieronational Relations
Assistant Professor

Email: c.cottiero@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: International organizations, esp. regional organizations, international relations in Africa, foreign policy and security politics in autocracies

James Curry

Americajim curryn Politics
Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Studies

Email: james.curry@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Congress, leadership, and political parties

David De Micheli

DavidComparative Politics                                                                                                                                                                                            Assistant  Professor

  Email: david.demicheli@utah.edu

  Areas of Expertise: Ethnic and identity politics, inequality, citizenship, Brazil, Latin America

Michael Dichio

Michael DichioAmerican Politics
Assistant Professor

Email: michael.dichio@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: American political and constitutional development, public law and courts, & politics of the U.S. Supreme Court

Edmund Fong

American Politics, Ethnic Studies john francis
Associate Professor & Director of Ethnic Studies

Email: edmund.fong@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Race, ethnicity, and American politics

Laura Gamboa

laura Comparative Politics                                                                                                                                                                               Assistant Professor

 Email: laura.gamboa@utah.edu

 Areas of Expertise: Transitions from and to democracy, political parties, voting behavior, and mixed                    methods, Latin American politics (in particular Colombia and Venezuela)

Claudio Holzner

Compaclaudio holznerrative Politics
Professor & Director of CLAS

Email: claudio.holzner@poli-sci.utah.edu
Office: CTIHB, Room 210

Areas of Expertise: Immigration, political participation, and social movements

Steven Johnston

Politicasteven johnstonl Theory
Professor & Maxwell Endowed Presidential Chair

Email: steven.johnston@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Democratic theory, contemporary political theory, modern political theory, politics and film, patriotism, tragedy, monuments and memorials

Baodong Liu

Americbaodong liuan Politics
Professor

Email: bblpo@yahoo.com

Areas of Expertise: Urban and racial politics, voting, and elections

Steven Lobell

Internsteven lobellational Relations
Professor

Email: steven.lobell@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: International security, foreign policy, political economy, and the Middle East

Josh McCrain

American Politics
Assistant Professor

Email: josh.mccrain@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Computational social science, econometrics, lobbying, Congress, media and politics, and political economy

Ella Myers

Political Tella myersheory
Associate Professor
Gender Studies
Associate Professor

Email: ella.myers@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Citizen participation, economic inequality, race, and gender and politics

Chris Simon

Public Administration, American Politics
Professor

Email: simon@cppa.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Alternative energy policy, energy security, education policy, and criminal justice

Phillip Singer

Health Policy
Assistant Professor& Director of Undergraduate Studies

Email: Phillip.Singer@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: American Politics, health politics and policy, public health, and Medicaid

Brent Steele

Internatiobrent steelenal Relations
Professor & Wormuth Presidential Chair

Email: brent.steele@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Security, international relations, ethics, and just war

Lina Svedin

Public Admlina svedininistration
Professor 

Email: lina.svedin@poli-sci.utah.edu 
Office: Gardner Commons, Suite 3050

Areas of Expertise: Governmental responses to crises and risk management

Jesus Valero

Public Admjesus valeroinistration
Assistant Professor

Email: jesus.valero@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Nonprofit organizations & management, public-nonprofit collaboration, and leadership

M. Hakan Yavuz

Comparativhakan yavuze Politics
Professor

Email: hakan.yavuz@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Transnational Islamic networks, ethnic/religious conflict, Turkey, and the Middle East

 

Career-Line Faculty

Geoff Allen

       Comparative Electoral Studies, Minority Politics
       Assistant Professor

       Email: geoff.allen@utah.edu

       Teaching Interests: Political institutions, nationalism and ethnic politics, and political parties and elections

Marjorie Castle

International Relations, Comparative Politics
Professor Lecturer

Email: marjorie.castle@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Regime change, political parties, comparative institutions, qualitative methods including process-tracing

Luke Garrott

Politicaluke garrottl Theory
Associate Professor Lecturer

Email: luke.garrott@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Urban politics and neighborhood democracy

Stephen Nelson

Americaluke garrottn Politics
Associate Professor Lecturer

Email: steve.nelson@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Law and public policy, American politics

Research Faculty

Mark Button

Politicmark buttonal Theory
Research Professor 

Email:  mark.button@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Deliberative democracy, civic education, political ethics, and suicide

John Francis

Compajohn francisrative Politics
Research Professor

Email: john.francis@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Public lands, public health, Western Europe, and North America

Sharon Mastracci

Public Adsharon mastracciministration
Research Professor

Email: sharon.mastracci@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Public management, emotional labor, workplace diversity, and public service

Visiting Faculty

Dave Buhler

       American Politics, Public Administration
       Regents Professor 

       Email: dave.buhler@utah.edu

       Teaching Interests: American politics and public administration

Tyler Pack

       International Relations
       Assistant Professor 

       Email: tyler.pack@utah.edu

       Teaching Interests: Civil wars, American foreign policy, international security, international intervention

Auxiliary Faculty

Morgan Lyon Cotti Adjunct Assistant Professor
Leslie Francis Adjunct Professor
Annabelle Hutchinson  Lecturer
Sandra J Pershing Adjunct Associate Professor

Jennifer Seelig

Adjunct Associate Instructor

 

Emeritus Faculty

Howard Lehman Professor Emeritus
Rick Green Professor Emeritus
Yanqi Tong Professor Emeritus
Peri Schwartz-Shea Professor Emeritus
Jim Gosling Professor Emeritus
Lauren Holland Professor Emeritus
Ronald Hrebenar Professor Emeritus
Robert Huefner Professor Emeritus
Steven Ott Professor Emeritus
Dan McCool Professor Emeritus
Susan Olson Professor Emeritus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last Updated: 9/7/22