You are here:

Political Science Faculty

Active Faculty

All faculty members are located in Carolyn and Kem Gardner Commons, Suite 3345 (unless otherwise noted).
Please contact faculty members via email.

Tabitha Benney

International Relationstabitha benney
Assistant Professor

Email: tabitha.benney@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: International currency markets, environmental policy, esp. environmental markets in emerging economies, and varieties of capitalism

Matthew Burbank

American Politicsmatthew burbank
Associate Professor

Email: mburbank@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Mega-events, public opinion, and urban politics

Mark Button

Politicmark buttonal Theory
Professor & Department Chair

Email:  mark.button@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Deliberative democrac, civic education, political ethics, and suicide

Juliet Carlisle

American Politics 
Associate Professor

Email: juliet.carlisle@utah.edu 

Areas of Expertise: American Politics, energy and environmental politics, public opinion, and political socialization

David Carter

Public Administration
Assistant Professor

Email: david.carter@mpa.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Public policy theory, policy analysis, and organic food regulation

Eun Bin Chung

International Relations, Political Psychology
Assistant Professor

Email: eunbinc@gmail.com

Areas of Expertise: International security, conflict resolution, political psychology, and survey and field experiments

James Curry

Americajim curryn Politics
Assistant Professor

Email: james.curry@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Congress, leadership, and political parties

Edmund Fong

Americanedmund fong Politics, Ethnic Studies
Associate Professor

Email: edmund.fong@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Race, ethnicity, and american politics

John Francis

Compajohn francisrative Politics
Research Professor

Email: john.francis@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Public lands, public health, Western Europe, and North America

Rick Green

Public Arick greendministration
Professor

Email: rick.green@mpa.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Administrative practices, public service, and ethics

Tobias Hofmann

Internationtobias hofmannal Relations, Comparative Politics
Assistant Professor

Email: tobias.hofmann@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: International trade agreements and European integration

Claudio Holzner

Compaclaudio holznerrative Politics, Associate Professor
CLAS, Director

Email: claudio.holzner@poli-sci.utah.edu
Office: CTIHB, Room 210

Areas of Expertise: Immigration, political participation, and social movements

Steven Johnston

Politicasteven johnstonl Theory
Professor; Maxwell Endowed Presidential Chair

Email: steven.johnston@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Patriotism, public space, and memorial practices

Howard Lehman

Internatiohoward lehmannal Relations, Professor
IR Certificate Program, Director

Email: lehman@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Globalization, foreign aid, and African politics

Baodong Liu

Americbaodong liuan Politics, Professor
Ethnic Studies, Department Associate Chair

Email: bblpo@yahoo.com

Areas of Expertise: Urban and racial politics, voting, and elections

Steven Lobell

Internsteven lobellational Relations
Professor

Email: steven.lobell@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: International security, foreign policy, political economy, and the Middle East

Sharon Mastracci

Public Adsharon mastracciministration, Professor
Political Science, Department Associate Chair

Email: sharon.mastracci@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Public management, emotional labor, workplace diversity, and public service

Ella Myers

Political Tella myersheory, Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
Gender Studies, Associate Professor

Email: ella.myers@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Citizen participation, economic inequality, race, and gender and politics

Peri Schwartz-Shea

Americperi schwartz-sheaan Politics, Public Administration
Professor

Email: psshea@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Research methods and institutional review boards

Chris Simon

Public Administration, American Politics
Professor

Email: simon@cppa.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Alternative energy policy, energy security, education policy, and criminal justice

Phillip Singer

Health Policy
Assistant Professor

Email: Phillip.Singer@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: American Politics, health politics and policy, public health, and Medicaid

 

Brent Steele

Internatiobrent steelenal Relations, Professor
Graduate Studies, Worthmuth Presidential Chair and Director

Email: brent.steele@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Security, international relations, ethics, and just war

Lina Svedin

Public Admlina svedininistration, Associate Professor
Public Policy, Public Administration, Director

Email: lina.svedin@poli-sci.utah.edu 
Office: Gardner Commons, Suite 3050

Areas of Expertise: Governmental responses to crises and risk management

Yanqi Tong

Comparative Politics
Professor

Email: y.tong@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Politics of China, environmental politics in China, and political culture and governance

Jesus Valero

Public Admjesus valeroinistration
Assistant Professor

Email: jesus.valero@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Nonprofit organizations & management, public-nonprofit collaboration, and leadership

M. Hakan Yavuz

Comparativhakan yavuze Politics
Professor

Email: hakan.yavuz@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Transnational Islamic networks, ethnic/religious conflict, Turkey, and the Middle East

Career-Line Faculty

Marjorie Castle

International Relations, Comparative Politics
Associate Professor Lecturer

Email: marjorie.castle@utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Foreign policy, international security, and Post-Soviet countries

Luke Garrott

Politicaluke garrottl Theory
Associate Professor Lecturer

Email: luke.garrott@poli-sci.utah.edu

Areas of Expertise: Urban politics and neighborhood democracy

Auxiliary Faculty

Abdul M. Baksh Adjunct Associate Professor
Larry L. Bench Adjunct Associate Professor
Troy Booher Adjunct Instructor
Jill Etterlein Carter Adjunct Assistant Professor
Marjorie Castle Associate Professor Lecturer
Tim Chambless Adjunct Associate Professor
Mike Christensen Adjunct Associate Professor
Leslie Francis Adjunct Professor
Luke Garrott Associate Professor Lecturer
Kenneth A. Hansen Adjunct Instructor
Mickey Ibarra Adjunct Associate Professor
Rebecca Larsen Adjunct Assistant Professor
Courtney McBeth Clinical Instructor
M. Scott Mietchen Adjunct Instructor
Paul T. Morris Assistant Professor (Lecturer)
Gary Nakao Adjunct Associate Professor
Steve Nelson Adjunct Associate Instructor
William David Patton Adjunct Professor
Sandra J Pershing Adjunct Associate Professor
Bryan K. Ritchie Adjunct Professor
Robert T. Rolfs Adjunct Professor
Steven Shaha Adjunct Professor
Robert Mower Spendlove Adjunct Instructor
Richard J Sperry MD Adjunct Professor
Kirk Torgensen Adjunct Assistant Professor
Constance B White Adjunct Assistant Professor
Michael Bernard Zuhl Adjunct Assistant Professor

Associate Instructors

Samantha Ball Associate Instructor
Doug Foxley Associate Instructor
Heidi Franco Associate Instructor
Tracy Graham Associate Instructor
Jerry Howe Adjunct Instructor
Frank Pignanelli Associate Instructor
Renee Tanner Graduate Instructor
Nora Wood Associate Instructor

Emeritus Faculty

Jim Gosling Professor Emeritus
Lauren Holland Professor Emeritus
Ronald Hrebenar Professor Emeritus
Robert Huefner Professor Emeritus
Dan Jones Professor Emeritus
Dan McCool Professor Emeritus
Susan Olson Professor Emeritus
Steven Ott Professor Emeritus
Last Updated: 8/17/18